Boeuf Bourguignon

add parsley

Autumn and Winter is where the slow roast and slow cooked come into their own. We appear to be having an extra long summer here this year but rumour has it it may all come crashing to an end this weekend with wind and rain forecast. And this is the recipe for those cold wet,  by the stove nights, where I drive to work in the dark and get home after dark. I have made this in the slow cooker (and still am a little too excited for a lady my age at the wonders of coming home to a cooked dinner when NOONE WAS IN THE HOUSE ALL DAY!)  I have also cooked this in the oven but actually find the best way is to cook it on a very low heat on the stove top. This recipe has come to me via a six week cookery class I did with my lovely mam (she of the brown bread from last week) with a fabulous chef, Denise, who focused on classic French food each night. I have tried Keith Floyds version (but am slightly put off by the quantity of brandy!),  I have tried Delia’s which is very good – I just go back to this over and over again. It is an excellent dinner party dish too  – all the ‘hassle part’ is well over and done with before you are sipping your first Prosecco.

Ingredients

overhead1kg diced sirloin (or rump) steak

1teaspoon Dijon Mustard

1 finely chopped onion

1 large tablespoon flour

3 tablespoons brandy (I often don’t have this – its fine without on a Wednesday night!)

2 cloves garlic

1 bottle Red WIne

1 tin chopped Tomatoes

150g diced bacon / lardons

10/15 baby onions

150g mushrooms

Finely Chopped Parsley

Preparation

  • Dice the beef & brown in a heavy large casserole dish. Add the flour and cook & stir for a further 2 minutes.

Meatadd flour

  • Add the brandy & cook off. Add the wine and chopped garlic.

add wine

  • In another pan, fry off the chopped onions and bacon.

bacon & onionsonions bacon

  • Add to the beef. Add the Dijon Mustard & chopped tomatoes.

add dijon

  • Simmer on low low heat for up to 2 hours, (or one hour if that’s all the time you have – this really is not that precise – as long as the meat is tender. I usually have it on a slow cook all afternoon.)
  • About half an hour before you eat add the mushrroms.

-1

  • Right before you serve, sprinkle with the chopped parsley.

add parsley

  • Serve with creamy mashed potatoes and a glass of wine of course!

serve

3 comments

    • Definitely. Just take the lid off for the last half hour if you can – it tends to be a bit more liquidy (is that a word?!) or if I’m in a rush I’ll add a tablespoon of bisto mixed with cold water to thicken it slightly. I LOVE my crockpot too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

